Connect with us


Women’s Super League past winners: Who has won the league before?




Four different teams have won the Women’s Super League since the league began in 2011. Over the past decade, Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal and Liverpool have all won the title, with the competition growing from eight to 12 teams over the course of of this period.

Arsenal were the first winners of the Barclays FA Women’s Super League in 2011, where a familiar pairing of Ellen White and Steph Houghton helped women’s football’s most successful side win what was technically their 13th championship title. It was a similar story the following year when Arsenal went unbeaten to become back-to-back Women’s Super League winners with Kim Little finishing top scorer with 11 goals. It would be seven years before the next time they win the title in 2018/19.